Do I love Jesus?

In response to yesterday’s post, I have the following to say of my own experience. I hope it encourages you.

 

I want to love Jesus more than I do. Yet I find that my heart often drifts into simple admiration. I’m convinced, with Justin, that this symptom of the heart is no small thing – that it betrays a sinister root of unbelief that still exists, and must be put to death. But it wont be put to death by mere trying. It must be killed with grace.

If you are like me, and you want to kill this root – this unbelief – in your heart, I want to encourage you with lyrics from a hymn that never fails to warm my heart toward my beautiful and wonderful Savior.

from “Before the Throne of God Above” :

“When Satan tempts me to despair
And tells me of the guilt within,
Upward I look and see Him there
Who made an end of all my sin.

Because the sinless Savior died
My sinful soul is counted free.
For God the just is satisfied
To look on Him and pardon me.

The justice of God is satisfied in the death of the sinless Savior; my soul is counted free, and nothing but the full pardon and pleasure of God is now mine. When I think on these truths I can’t help but love Jesus. This is the ministry of the Holy Spirit.

One Comment on “Do I love Jesus?”

  1. codykimmel says:

    This was a great reminder. Miss you brother!


Leave a Reply

